Keeping the Writing Going

[Part of a continuing series on where my fiction writing is at.]

Just a quick post today on where my writing is at.  P

“P” –This is a short story that’s become a bit long. It’s a fantasy story set in South America in the present day and it’s now up to 7,200 words. I have yet to write the last couple of scenes. After that’s done I think I will cut, cut, cut to get a solid, gripping read of about 5,000 words. A great length for selling to magazines.

I’m pleased with PARTS of the piece so far. Especially, the main character. I’m not as pleased with certain scenes and transitions. So, those will either have to be massaged or cut entirely. But that can wait until I have a final first draft.

I hope to wrap it up in the coming weeks.

3 other finished works—These works, which you can find on my Works in Progress  page, are still being submitted to magazines. I’ve learned one very important fact from submitting them: unlike speculative fiction magazines, “literary” fiction magazines tend to accept simultaneous submissions. This means you can send a piece out to as many venues as you like and wait to hear back. The DOWN side is that “literary” journals tend to take longer to get back to you. So, in a sense, you don’t really gain anything since you still have to wait a LONG time to hear back. Ah, the travails of the writer…

Finally, I did take a few minutes to update my Works in Progress page, so take a few moments to check it out.

OK. Enough from me, I’ve got to get back to work and back to writing fiction.

See you next time!

Darius

Leave a Reply

