Back to the Writing

All right, getting back at it. Just a short post to let you know I’m still alive, kicking and writing. Here’s what I have on my plate today:

ResubmittingWriting Man
I have to take a little time today to resubmit my comedy-horror novella, “AFTA.” It hasn’t been rejected once already, but I’m not deterred. It has a number of rejections ahead I’m sure, but, hey, that’s writing.

I hate to take time out to do this, but I know “AFTA” will find a home, I just need to find the right market. Often, this involves writing query letters, a wholly new activity for me. I don’t understand why you just can’t send the manuscript like you do for short stories. If anyone out there has a good explanation for this, I’d love to hear it in the Comments section below. Any tips on potential markets are also appreciated. 

Prewriting.
I have TONS….TONS of ideas for short stories. I also have some scoped-out novels that I keep adding tidbits to like filling in a painting with more and more detailed brushstrokes. Pretty soon you have characters, a structure, scenes, dialogue…But I digress…

The challenge is to get these ideas down, before they fly away. I have the ideas stored in hardware (on my mobile phone) and wetware (in my head). I need to dedicate serious time this afternoon to transferring the good ones from both.

Editing.
My new Sci-Fi story “B” has been patiently waiting my editing for months. I had to go back and do some rewriting of my “Ghul of Yazd” story, so I was held back a bit. No more. I will be getting to editing the 1st draft today or this weekend at the latest.


There you have it, the life of a writer when he isn’t exactly writing: Submitting, prewriting and editing. I’m starting to get anxious because I can’t wait to get back to what I really love: writing first drafts. It’s this editing and other stuff where I feel I get bogged down. (Those writers that LOVE to edit always annoy me and—I admit—make me jealous). Still, it needs to get done. If I believe in anything as a writer, it’s giving readers a quality finished product. I want to see my name attached to quality stuff.

That’s it. It’s time to get to work. I just wanted to keep you guys updated and let you know what’s coming next. Until next time…

Keep reading, keep writing,

Darius

Leave a Reply

